A REAL Asian guy. With his long bangs reaching right to his squinty eyes, and a lanky build that makes me guess he might even be a teenager. How precious.
The first asian guy to come to my box, used to come to the 9:30am class. I'm pretty certain he is Chinese. At first his wife would come and just wait for him to finish the WOD, but a few weeks later, she joined the box too. Hilariously enough, she's better than him at many of the movements, quickly bonding with the 8:30am Doral Wives Club.
Asian man is a huge complainer, he also has a very strong scent.I get to smell a lot of the guys at the crossfit cuz everybody gets sweaty, but this dude, even though I had my asian guy bias on him, he stinks.
Second asian guy that showed up at the box, is a little cuter than the Chinese dude, but this might be cuz he's mixed with some hispanic background. Wears glasses, and neon outfits, I also noticed he is a little cross-eyed. Definitely tries harder than China man; however he started losing points in my book of Asian men when he revealed himself to be a chatterbox (and new dad to a baby daughter), he talks too much to all the other girls in the box, and his preference is to show up to the 6pm class WHICH IS THE WORST CLASS EVER. POSERS.
Third asian guy, turns out is Mexican (no problem, I dig those asian looking mexicans). I call him chubs asian cuz he's the most filled out of all the asian dudes in this list. Pretty short too (<--- I also dig this). His thighs might even be comparable to mine in girth. This dude started racking up major points when I noticed HE DOES ALL THE WODS AT RX. He is also super quiet, keeps to himself, and does all the awkward things I do of kinda lingering around and trying to keep up pace, so I've come to believe we mutually like each other.
Even after he brought his girlfriend over to start crossfit. She even kinda sorta looks like me (obviously has good taste). It's ok. Still like him. Has an unexpectedly not so manly voice.
So the fourth and REALEST asian is a young dude that started showing up to the 5pm classes which I usually try to go to (or 8pm, with chubs asian). He would get to the box way earlier than the class he intended to take and kinda linger around the gym and try to do some weights.
I did not hate him for this, because unlike other n00bs that start to do weights, he wasn't doing retarded things like curling a barbell or squatting at a 120° angle. He also immediately reminded me of Hang because he was dressed rather bummy and his shoes looked too big for the rest of him.
He easily started going up the ranks of my asians list because
- dat youth
- long hair
- actually listens to coach
- great potential despite noobness
- always gives 110%
- doesn't talk much, but that accent!
- didn't come with a posse of guy friends like other young guys
Well, onward to the story this post was supposed to be about.
I started low-carbing it, right?
Because 2016 is going to be the year that my SIX PACK will be visible.
Got started working on that
DYINNNGGGG.
Specially so if we're running. It simply feels like the most difficult activity in the world. My legs feel like they weight 500 lbs each, my mouth dries up, my heart can't keep up, I think suicidal thoughts all the run through.
Coach decides Thursday is a nice day to do 10 laps of going up the parking lot ramp and around the second floor parking lot in less than two minutes (per round). 10 TIMES.
10 ROUNDS/LAPS OF THIS SHIT. It ain't even the WOD, it's the pre-wod.
And I fucking went at 6pm cuz traffic/work I don't even remember. Young asian guy is here. Gotta toughen up and not be a total pussy about this, gotta pull through, can't look bad.
It went down like this:
First lap done, aight, I finished with most of the girls. Not bad.Second lap starts and so does my death. Holy shit why is this so difficult already? We just started! Yargh, I'm in the last three.
Third lap, I've already just made a plan in my head to go slow and easy, don't try to break any records, just finish the lap, don't burn out.
Fourth lap, the guy with the bad knee is going at my pace, sometimes passes me, I'm all the way behind with all the noob girls, so ashamed... I looked up at the few people that are almost done with the lap and I'm only a quarter of a lap done with the parking lot.
Holy fuck young asian guy is #2. He runs just like Hang, those super long strides, but kinda haphazardly [cue love at second sight]. From this point on, I notice how young asian is always within the top 3 fastest runners, how the hell can he keep up this pace!? I get frustrated I'm always in the last 3. I know I'm having a bad day, so as long as I don't quit any of the laps, even if I'm super slow, I should feel accomplished, right?
Last lap. Coach says he wants everyone finishing within the time limit or we do a penalty lap. Groans everywhere. We're off! Don't worry guys I'll give it my all! But wait... wait a minute. Young asian is going deliberately slow. Young asian guy decides to herd us slow runners and motivate us to keep up. I am incredibly excited to hear his voice and get a closer look at him but also internally mad volcano raging that he's only been here like 2 weeks and he has to tell ME to finish this damn WOD.
I am certain I put myself in danger of having a stroke to not look bad to this kid and do my fastest lap possible.
Well, w/e, then we did the WOD and I'll be using the barbells while he's still doing stuff with kettlebells. So yeah, who's badass now!? Hm!!??
No comments:
Post a Comment