Thursday, April 21, 2016

4 years of crossfit and I still die while running

Finally there's an asian guy at my box.

A REAL Asian guy. With his long bangs reaching right to his squinty eyes, and a lanky build that makes me guess he might even be a teenager. How precious.

The first asian guy to come to my box, used to come to the 9:30am class. I'm pretty certain he is Chinese. At first his wife would come and just wait for him to finish the WOD, but a few weeks later, she joined the box too. Hilariously enough, she's better than him at many of the movements, quickly bonding with the 8:30am Doral Wives Club.
Asian man is a huge complainer, he also has a very strong scent.I get to smell a lot of the guys at the crossfit cuz everybody gets sweaty, but this dude, even though I had my asian guy bias on him, he stinks.

Second asian guy that showed up at the box, is a little cuter than the Chinese dude, but this might be cuz he's mixed with some hispanic background. Wears glasses, and neon outfits, I also noticed he is a little cross-eyed. Definitely tries harder than China man; however he started losing points in my book of Asian men when he revealed himself to be a chatterbox (and new dad to a baby daughter), he talks too much to all the other girls in the box, and his preference is to show up to the 6pm class WHICH IS THE WORST CLASS EVER. POSERS.

Third asian guy, turns out is Mexican (no problem, I dig those asian looking mexicans). I call him chubs asian cuz he's the most filled out of all the asian dudes in this list. Pretty short too (<--- I also dig this). His thighs might even be comparable to mine in girth. This dude started racking up major points when I noticed HE DOES ALL THE WODS AT RX. He is also super quiet, keeps to himself, and does all the awkward things I do of kinda lingering around and trying to keep up pace, so I've come to believe we mutually like each other.

Even after he brought his girlfriend over to start crossfit. She even kinda sorta looks like me (obviously has good taste). It's ok. Still like him. Has an unexpectedly not so manly voice.

So the fourth and  REALEST asian is a young dude that started showing up to the 5pm classes which I usually try to go to (or 8pm, with chubs asian). He would get to the box way earlier than the class he intended to take and kinda linger around the gym and try to do some weights.
I did not hate him for this, because unlike other n00bs that start to do weights, he wasn't doing retarded things like curling a barbell or squatting at a 120° angle. He also immediately reminded me of Hang because he was dressed rather bummy and his shoes looked too big for the rest of him.

He easily started going up the ranks of my asians list because
  1. dat youth
  2. long hair
  3. actually listens to coach
  4. great potential despite noobness
  5. always gives 110%
  6. doesn't talk much, but that accent!
  7. didn't come with a posse of guy friends like other young guys
Great, I can finally start looking forward to having some eye candy not only in the night classes, but also in the afternoon. Of course that's all he's going to be cuz I rarely talk to anyone except the coach or girls that are going to lift with me.

Well, onward to the story this post was supposed to be about. 


I started low-carbing it, right?

Because 2016 is going to be the year that my SIX PACK will be visible.

Got started working on that summer lifetime body since the end of February. Well, shit, the days that I actually stick to a low carb diet, I'm dying during workouts.

DYINNNGGGG.

Specially so if we're running. It simply feels like the most difficult activity in the world. My legs feel like they weight 500 lbs each, my mouth dries up, my heart can't keep up, I think suicidal thoughts all the run through.

Coach decides Thursday is a nice day to do 10 laps of going up the parking lot ramp and around the second floor parking lot in less than two minutes (per round). 10 TIMES.

10 ROUNDS/LAPS OF THIS SHIT. It ain't even the WOD, it's the pre-wod.

And I fucking went at 6pm cuz traffic/work I don't even remember. Young asian guy is here. Gotta toughen up and not be a total pussy about this, gotta pull through, can't look bad.

It went down like this:

First lap done, aight, I finished with most of the girls. Not bad.
Second lap starts and so does my death. Holy shit why is this so difficult already? We just started! Yargh, I'm in the last three.
Third lap, I've already just made a plan in my head to go slow and easy, don't try to break any records, just finish the lap, don't burn out.
Fourth lap, the guy with the bad knee is going at my pace, sometimes passes me, I'm all the way behind with all the noob girls, so ashamed... I looked up at the few people that are almost done with the lap and I'm only a quarter of a lap done with the parking lot.

Holy fuck young asian guy is #2. He runs just like Hang, those super long strides, but kinda haphazardly [cue love at second sight]. From this point on, I notice how young asian is always within the top 3 fastest runners, how the hell can he keep up this pace!? I get frustrated I'm always in the last 3. I know I'm having a bad day, so as long as I don't quit any of the laps, even if I'm super slow, I should feel accomplished, right?

Last lap. Coach says he wants everyone finishing within the time limit or we do a penalty lap. Groans everywhere. We're off! Don't worry guys I'll give it my all! But wait... wait a minute. Young asian is going deliberately slow. Young asian guy decides to herd us slow runners and motivate us to keep up. I am incredibly excited to hear his voice and get a closer look at him but also internally mad volcano raging that he's only been here like 2 weeks and he has to tell ME to finish this damn WOD.

I am certain I put myself in danger of having a stroke to not look bad to this kid and do my fastest lap possible.

Well, w/e, then we did the WOD and I'll be using the barbells while he's still doing stuff with kettlebells. So yeah, who's badass now!? Hm!!??

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Snatching

12min to find 1 rep max Snatch

WOD [10 rounds of]
10 rounds
Every 90 seconds

5 snatches (95/65)
100 meter sprint

12 minutes is not enough time to get a new PR. I got up to 85 lbs in my snatch, but according to my records my PR was 90 lbs in August.

Considering that nothing is sore or injured, it woulda been a good chance to get a new PR, but it didn't happen.

Did the WOD at RX cuz snatching 65 lbs is pie to me now.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Skill: rope climb fail

Today's skill ROPE CLIMBING!!!

WOD [3 rounds of]
1 rope climb
10 goblet squats (55 / 35)
2 rope climbs
15 kettle bell swings
3 rope clims
8 Overhead lunges /per leg (45 / 25 plate)

 We tried doing rope climbs for about 10 minutes and I got and itty bit better at it, and that is still just hanging on to the rope and not really moving upwards...

So, for the modified WOD do x2 rope climbs from the floor...

Definitely the toughest part is enduring all the pain it brings to your HANDS and grip, even holding on to the kettle bell was proving to be a mission toward the end.

Had I done actual rope climbs it woulda burn my thighs and legs.
I could never go to an actual competition cuz I totally fail at these crossfit skills.


Friday, October 24, 2014

T minus 2 days

Taking a rest day today and tomorrow so I don't tire myself out before the competition.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

T minus 4 days

ZE ZMOLOVZ
1x3 60% = 130 lbs
1x3 70% = 150 lbs
1x3 80% = 170 lbs
2x3 95% = 205 lbs

METCON 12 minutes to complete:
400m run
2 rounds (135lbs / 85lbs)
1 power snatch
1 hang snatch
1 overhead squat

200m run
3 rounds of snatch complex

100m run
Max numbers of snatch complex until time out

It's 4 days until our in-house crossfit competition / 2nd year anniversary. Today and yesterday, my left knee feels a little stuck and it has me worried since the first WOD announced for the competition is a 1 rep max for back squats. I know I can hit 205 lbs easily, since it's my old max, but when I got to 215 lbs after the first cycle of Smolov, I was borderline injured and don't think I squatted that low.

I failed the last sets of Smolov today, but I'm about to get my monthly so everything in my body feels drained and tired and not wanting to cooperate.

This Metcon was a lot of fun! I never thought I would say this about snatches, but now that I can do them well it's not a huge deal. Rocker dude did his WOD at 75 lbs and thought I was doing the same weight (which I could had I not been PMSing), but I switched to the "girl" bar cuz I was not in the mood to suffer failed reps due to losing my grip, so I did the WOD at 65 lbs.

Socks Coach said "You're killing it today, Berpii!" which made me smile my shy smile. And Girl Coach always compliments my form it makes me so happppyyyyyy.

The score for this WOD was number of snatch complexes completed after the 100m run.
I got 9 in the remaining time, not bad!

I wonder what we'll do tomorrow? Either way taking Friday and Saturday off to not die during the competition.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Classic WOD style

Warm-up WOD
7min EMOM:
10 kettle bell swings (62 lb /35 lb)
6 burpees

5 min rest

METCON
15 min to complete 5 Rounds of:
10 box jumps
10 pull-ups
10 goblet squats (62lb / 35lb)
10 HSPU (or 5 wall climbs)

Today felt very much like a regular crossfit WOD, short, intense, and harder than it seems. The warm-up was great and I finished all the reps every minute, yay!

I did the pull-ups with the medium band, and been trying to incorporate more kipping into it, I think I'm getting the hang of it!
Wall climbs... we haven't done those in AGES and I consider them my mortal enemies. I gave it a shot for the first round, and touched my stomach to the wall for the first time ever, but holy shit they're so hard to dooooooo.
Because of those 5 wall climbs that took me an eternity to complete, I was behind and only completed 4 rounds of the WOD. (For the rest I switched to box push-ups)
But I'm a little prouder of myself, so it's all good.

note to self: wear a more supportive bra for box jumps, it is inefficient to hang on to your boobs while jumping.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Don't Regret not Trying

Smolov SQUATZ
1x3 60% = 130 lbs
1x3 70% = 150 lbs
1x3 80% = 170 lbs
5x5 90% = 190 lbs

Metcon WOD
12 min AMRAP of:

200m run
7 hang clean & jerks (135 / 95)
15 burpees
30 double unders

There's this one [young] dude that has been going to my box for a long time, but he's kinda quiet (maybe standoffish?), or not so interested in crossfit? His squats were ridiculously light!!! Also, his form during the clean and jerks almost gave me several heart attacks worrying over the box getting sued when this fool breaks his back.

I feel that Psoas totally acting up on the 90% squats... yarrrgh.

I did the wod at 85 lbs, which in the night class board, said was the RX for women, my happiness kinda wore off when I checked the WOD again to write this post :(
I thought I was leveling up. Although, only finished 2 rounds cuz yea, 85 lbs is a lot to hang clean and jerk.
I hit my boobs while cleaning the bar, several times. Not gonna be surprised if I end up with bruised nipples tomorrow. So hardcore, bruh.